Art & communication

Technology

The mobile structure utilises the dynamic of delicate balance. The wing masses are in balance with the bodyweight. By using highly efficient solar energy, the heavy bird comes to life with a gentle wing beat.

Solarzelle Energy is obtained from sunlight with the aid of solar cells on the wings. At the heart of the mechanism is a microprocessor specially developed for the purpose. The computer drives servomotors which start the bird vibrating by displacing the masses in a self-optimising way. The software is capable of identifying changes in the natural frequency and uses self-adjustment to achieve the optimum operating point.

The bases for using the drive system in a sculpture of any size were created with the aid of models and computer simulations. The modular conception of the mechanism and all mechanical components are designed to withstand extreme weather and climatic conditions and to require minimum maintenance.

The sculpture is linked to a central monitoring and documentation point via data transmission. The whole system can be supplemented by web cams.

 
Contact: Projekt Birds c/o Ralph Quabeck – Hornstr. 85, 50823 Köln Tel. +49.(0)221.599020 Fax. +49.(0)221.5993963 e-mail: birds@solarbirds.org

Kunst & Kommunikation

Technologie

Die bewegliche Konstruktion nutzt die Dynamik des labilen Gleichgewichts. Die Massen der Flügel stehen im Gleichgewicht mit der Gewichtskraft des Körpers. Durch hocheffiziente solare Energienutzung erwacht der tonnenschwere Vogel mit sanftem Flügelschlag zum Leben.

Solarzelle Gewonnen wird die Energie aus Sonnenlicht mit Hilfe von Solarzellen, die sich auf den Flügeln befinden. Das Herz des Antriebs besteht aus einem eigens für diese Anwendung entwickelten Mikroprozessor. Der Computer steuert Servomotoren, die durch selbstoptimierende Massenverlagerung den Vogel in Schwingungen versetzen. Die Software ist in der Lage, Veränderungen bei der Eigenfrequenz zu ermitteln und sich auf den optimalen Betriebspunkt einzustellen.

Mit Hilfe von Modellen und Rechnersimulationen wurden die Grundlagen für den Einsatz des Antriebssystem in beliebigen Größen der Skulptur geschaffen. Die modulare Konzeption des Antriebs und alle mechanischen Bauteile sind auf extreme Witterungs- und Klimabedingungen und einen absolut wartungsarmen Betrieb ausgelegt.

Die Skulptur ist über eine Datenfernübertragung an eine zentrale Kontroll- und Dokumentationsstelle angebunden. Das Gesamtsystem kann durch Internetkameras (Webcam) ergänzt werden.

 
Kontakt: Projekt Birds c/o Ralph Quabeck – Hornstr. 85, 50823 Köln Tel. +49.(0)221.599020 Fax. +49.(0)221.5993963 e-mail: birds@solarbirds.org