Art & communication

Current status - Mother of the sunbirds

Birds was born in Cologne, which is its home. In 1997, the Birds concept and the mother bird were awarded the EUROSOLAR N.V. international solar art prize. The city of Cologne provided the mother sunbird with a nesting place on the bank of the Rhine, in the immediate vicinity of the museum island.

The Cologne bird stands for homeland and sponsorship of the Birds project, and unlike the planned fledgling sunbirds it has no specific meaning as yet.

The first sunbird sculpture was created by Odo Rumpf in several stages, in close cooperation with Uwe Schauff. The components used include weathered objects from heavy industry, agriculture, mining, households and 2nd World War weapon manufacturers. Iron and steel are fundamental materials in the development of 20th century prosperity, but also in weapons of war. They bear witness to times gone by.

The objects were found in the materials 'cemeteries' of industrial and agricultural associations between France and Poland. They come together as if each individual part had fitted itself in the course of time to the bird's design, by means of weathering and deformation.

Mother of the sunbirds
Eurosolar Prize
 
Contact: Projekt Birds c/o Ralph Quabeck – Hornstr. 85, 50823 Köln Tel. +49.(0)221.599020 Fax. +49.(0)221.5993963 e-mail: birds@solarbirds.org

Kunst & Kommunikation

Stand der Dinge - Die Mutter der Sonnenvögel

Geburtsort und Heimat von Birds ist Köln. Im Jahr 1997 wurde das Birds-Konzept und der Muttervogel mit dem internationalen Solarpreis für Kunst von EUROSOLAR e.V. ausgezeichnet. Die Sonnenvogelmutter hat von der Stadt Köln einen Nistplatz am Rheinufer in unmittelbarer Nähe der Museumsinsel erhalten.

Der Kölner Vogel steht für die Heimat und die Trägerschaft des Birds-Projekts und hat bisher im Unterschied zu den geplanten Sonnenvogelkindern keine spezifische Bedeutung.

Die erste Solarvogelskulptur wurde von Odo Rumpf in mehren Baustufen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Uwe Schauff geschaffen. Die verwendeten Bauteile sind unter anderem verwitterte Fundstücke aus Schwerindustrie, Landwirtschaft, Bergbau, Haushalten und Waffenschmieden des 2. Weltkriegs. Eisen und Stahl sind gleichermaßen grundlegende Materialien für die Entwicklung des Wohlstandes im 20. Jahrhundert aber auch der geführten Kriege. Sie sind Zeugen vergangener Zeiten.

Die Fundstücke stammen von Materialfriedhöfen europäischer Industrie- und Agrargesellschaften zwischen Frankreich und Polen. Sie fügen sich zusammen, als habe sich jedes einzelne Teil im Lauf der Zeit durch Verwitterung und Verformung dem Bauplan des Flugtieres angepasst.


Die Mutter der Sonnenvögel
Der Sonnenvogel für die Mongolei
Eurosolar Preis
 
Kontakt: Projekt Birds c/o Ralph Quabeck – Hornstr. 85, 50823 Köln Tel. +49.(0)221.599020 Fax. +49.(0)221.5993963 e-mail: birds@solarbirds.org